Moving, again….

Well, being that I am such a lazy blogger, I have a lot to say, and just a cup of coffee to help me say it.  As the title states, the zoo and I will be moving, again.  This time however, it will not be within Oregon.  We are packing up and heading to Stockton, CA sometime around the first.

If you have been a reader of my blog for a while, then you know that I refer to the zoo as Buggy Zoo.  This will change in the upcoming weeks, as I am hoping to make even more additions that will prove “neato” to the local people in Stockton.  Part of my plan is to run a booth at the Open Air Mall on Wilson Way, where these little critters can be showcased, and hopefully will inspire some new hobbyists to join the tarantula fan club.

The first new additions have already arrived, as I have just acquired some tiny Avicularia avicularia! They are cute, fuzzy, and are sure to make some child or adult happy as they grow into Pink Toed adults.  Up next on my grocery list is the Brachypelma smithi, which is the Red knee.  I have already sold one, and plan to get more.

For the first time, the zoo will have a dedicated shop, that is going to be set up specifically for them.  In the back of the house I am moving into there are shelves, and the ability to heat/cool them as needed.  We will be sharing the space with a bike shop, so if you are ever in the area and need a bike, or a tarantula, feel free to stop on by.

While I am excited to move, I am sad to see Oregon through a rear view mirror.  I hope to return once I take care of some things in California.

On a sadder note, on 2-16-11, the zoo lost Aphrodite– the Flame Leg sling.  She went into a molt, and never came out.  At 1/2″, she was very tiny, and it is hard to tell what could have caused the issue.  She will certainly be missed.

4 thoughts on “Moving, again….

  1. Congratulations on your move…Stockton, CA isn’t too far away from me! You’ve got to visit Ken The Bug Guy’s shop out in Concord, CA one day after you make it out here…you’ll go crazy in there!!

    • I am soooo excited to be so close to Ken’s shop! I hope to visit there VERY soon!! People are looking for GBBs and Red Knee’s like they are going to be missing soon, so I need to get some before they quit calling! lol
      What city are you in????

      • I live in Oakland, Ken’s shop in Concord is about 15 min away! I go in all the time, its DANGEROUS in there!!! HAHAHAHA You will LOVE the girls…they’re always helpful, funny & educational!! You can check out their stock online first, then go to the shop…OR, you can just show up & ask for stuff…a lot of times they’ll sell stuff they have in stock, but don’t list on the internet 😉

  2. I am sad that you are sad, but it will be ok. Someday, maybe soon you and Dan can work things out. In the mean time I am here and love you and want nothing but the best for you. I love you. Mom

Leave a comment