Holding a spiderling

Aphrodite is the first tarantula spiderling I got from my wish list.  I have had her for about a month, and she is a rather tiny 1/4″.  Since I got her, she has refused all food, but I thought I would give it another go this evening.  I figured that I would try a near dying cricket, as opposed to the freshly killed ones I usually give my spiderlings.  I found, however, that this particular cricket was not as near dead as I had hoped, and that it was a little bit bigger than I had anticipated.

Mexican Flame Leg

So, I opened the deli cup once more, and when the cricket finally jumped out, Aphrodite went missing!  I panicked A LOT on the inside, but remained physically calm, eyeballing the container in which all small deli cups sit when being opened for feeding ( a practice I use for cases like this…)

I slowly turned my hand over, and there was my precious Boehmei, sitting right in my palm! I stared at her for a few minutes, and gently coerced her back into her deli cup with the butt end of a pair of tweezers.  She is absolutely beautiful, and safe with a very dead cricket.

2 thoughts on “Holding a spiderling

  1. Well, I actually DON’T handle them all the time. Especially the spiderlings. How sad that the critters we have keep us separated. All in the name of science I guess…. My critters, however, have never seen an officers badge… 😛

    I love you, Mom,
    ~Tia Marie

  2. and honey this is why i dont visit you. I do not want to have a spider crawling on me. I know you handle them all the time, but i cant getover the fact that i usually spray them with raid. sorry honey, are you sure these spider are safe to handle. love and miss you , mom

Leave a comment